

ST OSWALD'S LOWER PEOVER

PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL

MEETING OF PARISHIONERS

Wednesday 27th April 2022 This meeting was held in the school and chaired by the rural Dean, the Rev .Ian Blay in the absence of Father Murray due to illness.

Meeting 1

Rev Ian Blay opened the meeting with prayer.

Fourteen parishioners were present; apologies were received from Ann Barlow, Ged Coates, George Dutton and Dave Spencer

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the previous meeting held on Wednesday 19th May2021 had been circulated and displayed for the statutory period. Copies had also been available online. Pam Adlington proposed and Norman Withenshaw seconded that the minutes be accepted as a true record.

ELECTION OF CHURCHWARDENS

Rodney Fowler and Keith Phillips are standing down as churchwardens but will be in post until July31st. They were thanked for their excellent service especially during the interregnum and the difficult times with father Murray's illness.

No new appointments were made at this meeting and the diocese will be made aware of this situation.

DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The date of the next meeting was noted as Wednesday 26th April 2023 at 8pm. Venue to be confirmed

The meeting closed with prayer at 8.04pm.

Meeting 2

ST OSWALD'S LOWER PEOVER PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING Wednesday 27th April 2021

Rev Ian Blay and fourteen parishioners were present; Apologies were received from Ann Barlow, Ged Coates, George Dutton and Dave Spencer

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the previous meeting held on Wednesday 19th May 2021 had been displayed for the statutory period and had been circulated and made available online. Terry Rathbone proposed and Colin Gidman seconded that the minutes be accepted as a true record. All agreed

ELECTORAL ROLL REPORT

Mr Jonty Geake reported that there are presently 175souls on the electoral roll, of which 65 are resident in the parish and 110 are non-resident. Thanks were expressed to Jonty for all his hard work with overseeing the roll and keeping it in good order

SAFEGUARDING REPORT

Tracey Wallace is the safeguarding officer and reported that PCC members are carrying out their appropriate safeguarding training.

ANNUAL REPORT

The annual report was written by Mrs Felicity Wilshaw. The work carried out by Ann Barlow as lay reader and the illness of Father Murray was underlined. Colin Gidman proposed and Keith Phillips seconded that this was a true and accurate report and all agreed.

FINANCIAL REPORT

The financial statement and report were written by Colin Gidman. The accounts had been formally approved by the PCC .Colin was thanked for his diligence and great dedication. Paul Edwards was thanked for auditing the accounts. Colin proposed and Norman seconded that these accounts are accepted and all agreed.

FABRIC/CHURCH WARDENS REPORT

The fabric report was written by Keith Phillips.

The wardens were thanked for all their hard work over this past year.

DEANERY SYNOD REPORT

Mandy wrote gave a brief report about the Deanery Synod. Thanks to Mandy for her continued support and representation at synod

CONSTITUTION OF THE PCC

The work of the PCC has continued .At present there are 19 members on the PCC apart from the vicar. Pam Adlington continues to act as Hon Assistant warden. Ann Barlow, Keith Phillips, Rodney Fowler and Mandy Spencer are ex officio members, being lay reader, churchwardens and deanery synod rep respectively

ELECTIONS AND APPOINTMENTS

Deanery Synod Representatives

Thanks to Mrs Mandy Spencer for her continued support and representation at synod. Mandy confirmed that she is willing to continue in this role .Thanks to Mandy for her ministry representing the parish at synod in this role.

Election of Parochial Church Council Members

The PCC remains much the same as in the previous APCM. There are currently 19 members -listed as appendix Pam Adlington .continued to act as Hon Assistant warden. There are two vacancies and therefore two re-elections. Joan proposed and Keith seconded that Pam Adlington and Dave Spencer be re-elected. All agreed.

Independent Examiner

The current Independent Examiner is Mr Paul Edwards. Colin will approach Paul and ask whether he wishes to be reappointed as auditor. Colin proposed and Rodney seconded that Paul be re-elected. **School Governors**

The foundation governors are Graham Norbury, Tim Knowles, Louise Lawton and Peter Longinotti .The trustee governor is Alan Macintyre there is one vacancy for a foundation governor. It was proposed by Jonty Geake and seconded by Joan Drye that Janet Gidman is put forward as the PCC choice for church governor. This had previously been approved at the PCC meeting on July 21st 2021.

SCHOOL GOVERNORS REPORT

The report was written by Debbie Rutter, the chair of Governors.

The meeting finished at 8.30 pm

.The next meeting will be held on Wednesday 26th April 2023 at 8pm. Venue to be confirmed.