

ST OSWALD'S LOWER PEOVER

PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL

MEETING OF PARISHIONERS

Wednesday 25th April 2018

Meeting 1

The Vicar Rev. Doctor Jane Lloyd opened the meeting with prayer. Fourteen parishioners were present; apologies were received from Ann Barlow, Dave and Mandy Spencer, Ged Coates, Brian and Joan Drye, Sophia Kennedy and Angela Croxford.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the previous meeting held on Wednesday 26th April 2017 had been displayed for the statutory period. Jonty Geake proposed and Keith Phillips seconded that the minutes be accepted as a true record. This was passed nem con.

ELECTION OF CHURCHWARDENS

No nominations had been received for the post of churchwarden. Keith Phillips stands down as warden from now as he has completed his 6 years of service. Dave Spencer stands down from now as he is planning to train as a reader. Therefore we now have no churchwardens,

We are not legally obliged to have a churchwarden-the jobs can be undertaken by the PCC and lay people. Jane can meet with the standing committee without wardens.

It was stressed that Jane will be busier as she will be performing churchwarden duties as well as her present ones.

DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The date of the next meeting was noted as Wednesday 24 h April 2019 at 8pm in the school Hall.

The meeting closed at 8.10pm

Meeting 2

ST OSWALD'S LOWER PEOVER PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING

Wednesday 25th April 2018

Fourteen parishioners were present; apologies were received from Ann Barlow, Dave and Mandy Spencer, Ged Coates, Brian and Joan Drye, Sophia Kennedy and Angela Croxford.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the previous meeting held on Wednesday April 26 2017 had been displayed for the statutory period and were circulated. George Dutton proposed and Jonty Geake seconded the minutes be accepted as a true record. This was passed- nem.con. The meeting notification and agenda had been issued to all members of the Electoral Roll.

ELECTORAL ROLL

Mr Jonty Geake reported that there are presently 356 souls on the electoral roll, of which 87 are resident in the parish and 269 are non-resident; this is a record number of non-resident members. Jonty explained that the roll is revised every 6 years and members are invited to reapply. Members should live in the parish or worship with us. If members do not worship regularly (at least 6 times per year) then they should not be on the electoral roll. After 6 years their names will fall off the roll. The next new roll is due in 2019. Jonty was thanked for all his hard work as electoral roll officer.

PCC REPORTS

Annual Report and Financial Statement.

The annual report was read by Mrs Felicity Wilshaw, a copy of which is attached as appendix 1. The vicar thanked the secretary for her report.

Colin Gidman gave a financial report, a copy of which is attached as appendix 2 and he presented the accounts which had been formally approved by the PCC .Colin was thanked for his diligence and great dedication.

Paul Edwards Jones was thanked for auditing the accounts and Norman for his help with compiling them.

General Report

The Vicar gave a general report, a copy of which is attached as appendix 3. The PCC expressed their thanks to Jane for her work and dedication.

Fabric goods and ornaments

The report was read by Keith Phillips on behalf of the churchwardens, a copy of which is attached as appendix 4

Deanery Synod

Jane gave a brief report about the Deanery Synod. There have been three meetings this year. There is a new treasurer and secretary. In June, at Nether Alderley, Bishop Libby Lane addressed the meeting. The lay chair is John Grainger. The next meeting is at Saint Bart's, Wilmslow and will concern caring for those in our parishes who suffer from dementia.

CONSTITUTION OF THE PCC

There are presently 24 members on the PCC apart from the vicar.

ELECTIONS AND APPOINTMENTS

Deanery Synod Representatives

The current representatives to the Deanery Synod are the Rev Jane Lloyd and Mrs Mandy Spencer. Their terms of office have not been completed and they will continue to serve.

PCC Members

There were 4 members whose terms of office were up for renewal, George Dutton, Jonty Geake, Brian Drye and Angela Croft. All apart from Angela wished to stand for re-election. Sue Lake had also sent Felicity a letter of resignation. Felicity will send a note of thanks to both Angela and Sue for all their support to the church as PCC members. Sue has served as a member for many years. There are vacancies for two new members. Tom Lloyd and Gail Longinotti were nominated as new members. It was proposed by Felicity Wilshaw and seconded by Tim Knowles that these two parishioners were elected and that George, Brian and Jonty be re-elected en bloc. All were in favour. A list of PCC members is attached as appendix 5.

Sides persons

There are currently 23 sidespersons. George Dutton proposed and Norman Withenshaw seconded that they be re-elected en bloc. This was passed nem.con. A list of sidespersons is attached as appendix 6.

Independent Examiner

The current Independent Examiner is Mr Paul Edwards. Jonty Geake proposed and George Dutton seconded that Paul be re-elected. All agreed.

School Governors

The PCC governors are Martin Hughes, Tim Knowles and Louise Lawton. The diocesan governors are Harry Kennedy and Peter Longinotti .The trustee governor is Alan Macintyre .None of the above governors are up for renewal at this time.

Electoral roll officer

The current electoral roll officer is Jonty Geake. He stated his willingness to continue for one more year and organise the new roll due in 2019 .He thanked Norman for all his help. Mr Geake was thanked for his service.

Report from School Governors

A report was prepared by the chair of governors and read by the vicar.

This is attached as appendix 7.

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday 24th April 2019 @8pm in the school Hall.